Secondary Characters

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Secondary Characters

Post by Deej on Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:41 am

Okay, I need help and or input regarding secondary characters. I've never done a sequel before, never thought I could, but now I have an idea for a sequel to Redemption and also two new books that would be a continuing story but with a 75 years gap in time, old west to modern day ranching.

I believe I'll be fine for the Redemption characters, it's the kids, grown up, and all of them are pretty well developed, but I need to understand what's important for the readers, and viable. What are some good ways you've seen it done and what are the pitfalls?

All opinions count, thanks.

Admin
Admin

http://www.dejaynovl.org

Back to top Go down

Re: Secondary Characters

Post by BassGuitarGirl on Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:03 pm

A story is a story, no matter where the characters come from. Your themes sound really cool for your new books. Don't you love how your mind just keeps on working on the stories even though you vowed NOT to write them. Go figure.

I think you'll need a flashback or two from the kids-turned-grownups so the reader can place them in the storyline. not many (unless that's the point of your story), just enough so that the reader has some idea who these characters are. (It's a sequel after all). Flashbacks are great if they inform the character about what to do in the present.

Now who exactly are the secondary characters -- I assume these are NOT the kids who will be grown up. How important are the secondary characters. If they were just walk-ons, then you don't need them in the sequels. If they are minor characters, figure out how much they influenced the major characters in the first book and decide if they're needed.

Last edited by BassGuitarGirl on Sat Mar 23, 2013 4:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
BassGuitarGirl
Getting the Hang of Things
Getting the Hang of Things

http://www.BLClanton.com

Back to top Go down